Your vacation planning community


STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO-March 6, 2013-The 2012/2013 Steamboat SlopeWise Safety Poster Contest Grand Prize Winner as well as the First, Second and Third Place recipients were announced during presentations today by Deb Holloway, a member of the Steamboat Ski Area’s Patrol and the safety poster contest coordinator.


“The primary goal of the SlopeWise Safety Poster Contest is to generate awareness of skiing and riding in a safe manner and the appropriate behavior while making the learning process fun for kids,” said John Kohnke, patrol director for the Steamboat Ski & Resort Corporation.


Whittney Lighthizer from Hayden Valley received the overall award from all Yampa Valley school entries as well as from her school. Finn Dressen, Clinton Bradt, Sidney Barbier, McKenzie Clark, Timmy Sabat and Sara Johnson took top billing at their respective schools. A 2013/2014 Steamboat child season pass along with $50 cash will go to Lighthizer. Each 1st place winner will receive $50 cash; 2nd place winner a $25 Steamboat gift certificate and 3rd place a pizza pack.


“The response has grown steadily with more than 300 posters submitted and nearly 1,500 children learning about on-mountain safety this year,” said Holloway. “The sheer volume of posters submitted shows the impact this program is having on children across the Yampa Valley and the ability to keep on-mountain safety fun.”


Hayden Valley Elementary, Emerald Mountain School, Heritage Christian, Soda Creek Elementary, South Routt Elementary, Strawberry Park Elementary and North Routt Community Charter Schools all participated in the ski area’s 13th annual safety poster program.  Students submitted a poster depicting their favorite aspect of SlopeWise on-mountain safety or the Responsibility Code.


Overall Grand Prize
Whittney Lighthizer
Hayden Valley Elementary


Hayden Valley Elementary

1st:  Whittney Lighthizer
2nd:  Kelly Turner & Hailee Smith (tie)
3rd:  Xela Lowe & Dallas Lewis (tie) 


Heritage Christian
1st:  Clinton Bradt
2nd:  Bailey Iacovetto
3rd:  Noelle Cerone


North Routt Community Charter
1st:  Sara Johnson
2nd:  Mitch Kucera
3rd:  Thomas Reilley & William Reilley (tie) 


South Routt Elementary
1st:  McKenzie Clark
2nd:  Spencer Ashley
3rd:  Katelyn Dudley & Amy Lewis (tie) 


Soda Creek Elementary
1st:  Sidney Barbier
2nd:  Ryley Seibel
3rd:  Caroline Gilchrist


Emerald Mountain
1st:  Finn Dressen
2nd:  Eva Hermacinski
3rd:  Molly Mueller 


Strawberry Park Elementary
1st:  Timmy Sabat
2nd:  Alex Spiegel
3rd:  Caz Berkey 

All winning entries from the Steamboat contest will be entered into the National Ski Areas Association’s national safety poster contest. National winning posters will be featured in the June/July 2013 issue of the NSAA Journal.


Contest winners have gone on to receive national recognition several times. Alice Holmquist, Soda Creek Elementary, took top honors in The National Ski Areas Association National Kid's Safety Poster Contest in May 2007. Holmquist was the third Steamboat Springs student to win the contest, joining Devin Wilkinson (2004) and Daniel Bockelman (2001).

Views: 291


You need to be a member of Steamboat to add comments!

Join Steamboat

Steamboat Reservations

Call: (877) 783-2628 or book online, the Official Site for Steamboat Ski Resort.

For mobile phone updates including snow, lifts & trails, follow us on:

Latest Activity

Eric Rittenhouse MD is now a member of Steamboat
20 hours ago
Profile IconCarolina Ipinza, Michael Garvey, Scott Lucas and 2 more joined Steamboat
Brendon Robertson replied to Brendon Robertson's discussion Buying skis in steamboat
"Boo Boo. Demo seems the way to go. Thanks for all your advice."
Clark Cox replied to Brendon Robertson's discussion Buying skis in steamboat
"I second demoing... Im partial to Christy's.  Pretty good selection."
Aug 21
Boo Boo replied to Brendon Robertson's discussion Buying skis in steamboat
"If you are interested in buying skis in Steamboat, then I would second demo'ing first too.…"
Aug 21
Bobski is now a member of Steamboat
Aug 20
Randy Pattison posted photos
Aug 20
Randy Pattison replied to Brendon Robertson's discussion Buying skis in steamboat
"Hi Brendon, How about buying some skis hand crafted in Steamboat made with wood logged from the…"
Aug 19

© 2014   Created by Steamboat.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service